Planets for Kids


Planets for Kids-Solar System for Kids-Space Facts for Kids-Solar System Information-Planets

An educational video all about the planets. The planets for kids provides information suitable for toddlers, preschoolers, KS1 and KS2. Containing space facts for kids, facts about the planets, order of the planets and the importance of the sun this video is perfect for anyone working on a solar system project.

Video Transcript:

Today we are going to learn about space and our Solar System!

What is the solar system?
The Solar System is made up of all the planets that orbit our Sun. In addition to planets, the Solar System also consists of moons, comets, asteroids, minor planets, and dust and gas. Everything in the Solar System orbits or revolves around the Sun. The Sun contains around 98% of all the material in the Solar System. Cialis Black

There are eight planets in the solar system. Starting with Mercury, which is the closest to the Sun, the planets are:
• Mercury
• Venus
• Earth
• Mars
• Jupiter
• Saturn
• Uranus
• Neptune
If you can’t remember the correct order, try this sentence, or make one up of your own:
My Very Easy Method Just Speeds Up Naming
Pluto and the dwarf planets
Scientists have discovered other objects orbiting the Sun. These include comets, asteroids and dwarf planets, like Pluto and Eris.
Pluto used to be considered the ninth planet in our solar system. But in 2006 scientists renamed it as a dwarf planet. So now we have 8 planets in the solar system.
The Sun is a star – it is not a planet. Our Sun is just like the stars we see in the night sky. The Sun is also the only star we see during the daytime.
The Sun is so big that you could fit more than 1 million earths inside of it! It measures more than a million kilometers across.
All eight of our planets orbit the Sun. Depending on the distance, some planets circle the Sun faster than others. Phentermine for sale
Let’s talk about each planet and their characteristics:
Mercury is the planet closest to our Sun, and it is the eighth largest of the nine planets.
Mercury is a small, rocky planet – much like our Moon. It is covered with craters and has changed very little from when it was first formed.
Scientists think that there may be *volcanic activity* on Mercury.
Unlike many of our nine planets, Mercury has no moons.
Venus is the second planet from the Sun, and the sixth largest of all the nine planets.
Venus is a small, rocky planet blanketed in a thick layer of yellowish clouds. These clouds are not made of water (like the ones here on Earth). Instead, they are formed from a poison called sulfuric acid.
Venus’ surface is very hot – about 400 degrees Celsius! Venus has no moons.
Earth is the third planet from the Sun, and the fifth largest of the nine planets.
Earth is a small, rocky planet which supports a variety of life! As far as we know, Earth is unique from all other planets in this respect. 71 % of the Earth’s surface is covered with water.
The Earth is orbited by one moon.
The Moon
The Moon is the Earth’s only natural satellite. It is the second brightest object in the sky (after the Sun). The Moon was first visited by the Soviet spacecraft Luna 2 in 1959. It is the only extraterrestrial body to have been visited by humans. The gravitational forces between the Earth and the Moon cause some interesting effects. The most obvious is our ocean tides.
The Moon has no atmosphere.
Mars is a small, rocky planet which is cold and lifeless. Mars is the fourth planet from the Sun.
Though there is no water on Mars now, it is thought that large lakes or even oceans may have once existed on this planet
Mars has two tiny moons which orbit very close to the surface. Their names are Phobos and Deimos.
Jupiter is a giant gas planet which is made up of about 90% hydrogen and 10% helium. Jupiter is the fifth planet from the Sun and by far the largest of all nine planets.
The vivid colors seen in Jupiter’s clouds are probably the result of subtle chemical reactions in Jupiter’s atmosphere.
Jupiter’s most outstanding and interesting feature is called “The Great Red Spot.” Jupiter has 16 known moons!
Saturn is the sixth planet from the Sun.
Saturn is a giant gas planet which is made up of about 75% hydrogen and 25% helium. It’s most famous for its thousands of beautiful rings. Saturn’s rings are made up mostly of water ice, but they may also include rocky particles with icy coatings.
Saturn has 18 known moons – more than any other planet!
Uranus is the seventh planet from the Sun.
Uranus is a giant gas planet which is made up of mostly rock and various ices. Uranus’ blue color is the result of a gas called “methane” found in the planet’s upper atmosphere.
Uranus has 15 known moons
Neptune is the eighth planet from the Sun
Neptune is a giant gas planet which is most likely made up of various “ices” and rock. Neptune’s winds are the fastest in the solar system, reaching 2000 km/hour!
What are comets and asteroids?